Bye bye to Autocorrct

That’s right, I’ve decided to turn off the autocorrect feature on my blackberry. “Why” you ask? Because I feel in the long run, it causes more problems than it solves. The first issue I came across with autocorrect is that it’s highly inefficient. Half the time, my autocorrect function tends to correct words I don’t want it to correct, or it corrects it to a different word altogether. This is coincidently a common problem, with even a comical blog gaining popularity from our collective frustrations.

The second issue is really the one that tipped the scales for me; dependence. During my undergraduate years I injured my knee and was given the recommendation of going to rehab and wearing a protective sleeve. The sleeve helped a lot with my recovery but I was warned that I should use the sleeve sparingly. The reason for this was that although the sleeve would relieve some of my short term agony, in the long run, wearing the sleeve continually would make my knee dependent on it, thereby stopping it from reaching a full recovery. This is the same issue I’ve seen with autocorrect. The more I use it, the less I think about vocabulary, and the weaker my grip on the english language becomes. So kudos autocorrect, I’m on my own from here on out.

How do you feel about autocorrect? Does it solve problems or create new ones? Let me know in the comments below.

Comments
2 Responses to “Bye bye to Autocorrct”

Leave a Reply

